Take the Quiz
Clinical Guide · Side Effects · Updated October 16, 2026

Tirzepatide Side Effects & Management

The complete tirzepatide side-effect profile from SURMOUNT and SURPASS trial data, contraindications, drug interactions, and clinical strategies for managing GI symptoms during titration.

SS
Editorial team
Dr. Sam Saberian · Lead Medical Researcher
Medical review by Alen A. Schwartz, MD · Edited by Julliana Edwards · Last updated October 16, 2026
Top-rated on our rubric: NexLife — 94/100 (May 2026 review). Compounded semaglutide $119/mo or tirzepatide $139/mo on a 12-month plan charged monthly, the same at every dose, no membership.Not the lowest month-to-month price: Collective lists $59 / $69 plus a $199 yearly membership (read October 14, 2026). Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved; a licensed clinician decides eligibility.
See NexLife plansCompare all

Common side effects (SURMOUNT-1 pooled data)

Serious adverse events & boxed warning

Boxed warning (thyroid C-cell tumors): Tirzepatide caused thyroid C-cell tumors in rats; relevance to humans is unknown. Contraindicated in patients with a personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC) or multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome type 2 (MEN-2).

Pancreatitis: Rare; discontinue if suspected.

Gallbladder events: Cholelithiasis and cholecystitis reported.

Hypoglycemia: Higher risk when combined with insulin or sulfonylureas in type 2 diabetes; dose-adjust accompanying therapy.

Acute kidney injury: Reported in association with severe GI side effects causing dehydration.

Hypersensitivity: Anaphylaxis and angioedema reported; discontinue if it occurs.

Diabetic retinopathy: Rapid A1C improvement may temporarily worsen retinopathy; monitor in patients with pre-existing retinopathy.

Contraindications

Drug interactions

Tirzepatide delays gastric emptying and may affect the absorption of orally-administered medications. The most clinically significant interaction is with oral contraceptives: Eli Lilly recommends a non-oral contraceptive method or addition of a barrier method for 4 weeks after initiation and for 4 weeks after each dose escalation. Adjust insulin and sulfonylureas in patients with type 2 diabetes to reduce hypoglycemia risk.

Managing GI symptoms during titration

When to call your clinician immediately

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
★★★★★ 4.8
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 fitness coaching
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, all MD/DO visits, messaging (lab work not stated on its pages), personalized nutrition plan (GLP-1 focused), 1:1 fitness call with certified wellness coach, and medical guidance.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
★★★★★ 4.7
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 coaching
  • 📱 Apple Health / Google Fit sync
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, all visits, messaging and Care360 coaching (lab work not stated on its pages).

Compounded tirzepatide via named 503A pharmacies.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Related guides

Questions readers ask

Does tirzepatide affect birth control pills?

Yes, it can. Because tirzepatide delays gastric emptying, Eli Lilly recommends switching to a non-oral contraceptive or adding a barrier method for four weeks after starting and for four weeks after each dose escalation.

How long before a planned pregnancy should tirzepatide be stopped?

The page advises stopping tirzepatide at least two months before a planned pregnancy because of its long half-life. Pregnancy is listed among the contraindications, so discuss timing with your clinician.

Can tirzepatide cause low blood sugar?

The risk is higher when tirzepatide is combined with insulin or sulfonylureas in type 2 diabetes, so those medicines may need dose adjustment. Warning signs include sweating, shakiness and confusion, and they warrant a prompt call to your clinician.

How common is nausea on tirzepatide?

In SURMOUNT-1 pooled data, nausea affected about 24% to 31% of patients and was typically transient, peaking around dose escalation. Diarrhea affected about 19% to 23%, constipation about 15% to 17% and vomiting about 8% to 12%.

Primary sources

  1. FDA: Concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss (current as of October 1, 2026)
  2. FDA: Policies for compounders as GLP-1 supply stabilizes (updated April 1, 2026)
  3. FDA: Compounding and the FDA — questions and answers
  4. FDA: Registered outsourcing facilities (503B)
  5. Wilding JPH et al. Once-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 1). N Engl J Med 2021
  6. Wegovy (semaglutide) prescribing information, Novo Nordisk