Take the Quiz
Cost Guide · Tirzepatide · Updated October 16, 2026

Tirzepatide Cost Guide 2026

Complete monthly-cost breakdown for tirzepatide in 2026 — compounded vs brand-name Mounjaro and Zepbound — with insurance, HSA/FSA, and dose-titration price impact explained.

SS
Editorial team
Dr. Sam Saberian · Lead Medical Researcher
Medical review by Alen A. Schwartz, MD · Edited by Julliana Edwards · Last updated October 16, 2026
Top-rated on our rubric: NexLife — 94/100 (May 2026 review). Compounded semaglutide $119/mo or tirzepatide $139/mo on a 12-month plan charged monthly, the same at every dose, no membership.Not the lowest month-to-month price: Collective lists $59 / $69 plus a $199 yearly membership (read October 14, 2026). Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved; a licensed clinician decides eligibility.
See NexLife plansCompare all

Tirzepatide cost at a glance (May 2026)

PathwayMonthlyNotes
NexLife compounded (12-mo)$139/moFlat-rate across 2.5–15 mg titration. Editor's Pick.
NexLife compounded (monthly)$169/moMonth-to-month, no annual commitment.
Mochi Health compounded$239/moNP-led model.
Hims compounded$249–$349/moTiered by dose at some price points.
Henry Meds compounded$379/moAsync-only NP model.
Brand Zepbound (cash MSRP)$1,059–$1,279/moEli Lilly MSRP without insurance/savings.
Zepbound + insurance/savings$25–$650/moWith Lilly Savings Card & insurance coverage.
LillyDirect self-pay vials$349–$499/moDirect-to-consumer Zepbound vials (2.5 mg, 5 mg).

Why dose-independent flat pricing matters

Tirzepatide titrates from 2.5 mg up to 15 mg. Many providers raise the monthly price each time the dose increases. A patient who starts at $199/mo at 2.5 mg may end up paying $399+/mo at 15 mg. Flat-rate dose-independent pricing (offered by NexLife at $139/mo on the 12-month plan) means the patient pays the same monthly fee whether they are at 2.5 mg or 15 mg.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
★★★★★ 4.8
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 fitness coaching
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, all MD/DO visits, messaging (lab work not stated on its pages), personalized nutrition plan (GLP-1 focused), 1:1 fitness call with certified wellness coach, and medical guidance.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
★★★★★ 4.7
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 coaching
  • 📱 Apple Health / Google Fit sync
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, all visits, messaging and Care360 coaching (lab work not stated on its pages).

Compounded tirzepatide via named 503A pharmacies.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Insurance coverage for tirzepatide

Zepbound is covered by many commercial insurance plans for adults with BMI ≥ 30, or BMI ≥ 27 with at least one weight-related comorbidity (per FDA label). Mounjaro is generally covered for type 2 diabetes only. Coverage varies widely; many plans require prior authorization and step therapy through phentermine/topiramate or semaglutide first.

Medicare does not cover GLP-1 medications for chronic weight management under Part D (the AHM-style waiver expansion has been proposed but not enacted at the federal level as of May 2026). Medicare Part D does cover Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes. Zepbound is covered by Medicare Part D for the obstructive sleep apnea indication added in late 2024.

HSA & FSA

Tirzepatide (compounded or brand) is generally eligible for HSA and FSA reimbursement when prescribed by a licensed clinician for a covered medical indication (chronic weight management or type 2 diabetes). Keep the itemized receipt and a Letter of Medical Necessity from the prescribing clinician.

Eli Lilly Savings Card & LillyDirect

Eli Lilly offers a Zepbound Savings Card that can reduce the monthly cost to $25 for eligible commercially-insured patients with coverage, or $550–$650 for self-pay. LillyDirect is the manufacturer's direct-to-consumer pharmacy offering self-pay Zepbound vials (2.5 mg / 5 mg) at $349–$499/mo as of May 2026.

Trade-offs to know (compounded path)

Compounded tirzepatide is not FDA-approved and is not the same as Mounjaro® or Zepbound®. Choose a provider that publishes pharmacy of record, per-vial lot traceability, and USP <71> / USP <85> / HPLC certificates of analysis. Cash-pay only — insurance does not reimburse compounded medications.

Related guides

Questions readers ask

What does Zepbound cost through LillyDirect self-pay?

LillyDirect lists Zepbound vials or KwikPen at $299 a month for 2.5 mg, $399 for 5 mg and $449 for 7.5 to 15 mg with a refill within 45 days (read October 14, 2026).

Does NexLife charge more as the tirzepatide dose goes up?

No. NexLife charges the same at every dose from 2.5 to 15 mg: $169 month to month, or $159, $149 and $139 a month on 3-, 6- and 12-month plans, each charged monthly with no membership (read October 14, 2026).

Is NexLife the cheapest compounded tirzepatide?

Only on a 12-month plan charged monthly, where its $139 a month is the lowest among programs we track.

Can Medicare members get Zepbound for a lower copay?

Through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027, eligible Part D members can get Zepbound KwikPen, Wegovy or Foundayo for a $50 copay, with prior authorization and BMI-based criteria. Open enrollment runs October 15 to December 7, 2026.

Primary sources

  1. FDA: Concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss (current as of October 1, 2026)
  2. FDA: Policies for compounders as GLP-1 supply stabilizes (updated April 1, 2026)
  3. FDA: Compounding and the FDA — questions and answers
  4. FDA: Registered outsourcing facilities (503B)
  5. Wilding JPH et al. Once-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 1). N Engl J Med 2021
  6. Wegovy (semaglutide) prescribing information, Novo Nordisk