Take the Quiz
Medication Reference · Updated October 16, 2026

Compounded Tirzepatide

Complete reference page for compounded tirzepatide in 2026: 503A vs 503B pathway, base vs salt-form distinction, pricing across telehealth providers, traceability standards, and clinical context.

SS
Editorial team
Dr. Sam Saberian · Lead Medical Researcher
Medical review by Alen A. Schwartz, MD · Edited by Julliana Edwards · Last updated October 16, 2026
Top-rated on our rubric: NexLife — 94/100 (May 2026 review). Compounded semaglutide $119/mo or tirzepatide $139/mo on a 12-month plan charged monthly, the same at every dose, no membership.Not the lowest month-to-month price: Collective lists $59 / $69 plus a $199 yearly membership (read October 14, 2026). Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved; a licensed clinician decides eligibility.
See NexLife plansCompare all

What is compounded tirzepatide?

Compounded tirzepatide is a customized preparation of the tirzepatide molecule prepared by a 503A licensed compounding pharmacy or a 503B FDA-registered outsourcing facility. It is dispensed in response to a patient-specific prescription (503A) or in batches (503B). It is not FDA-approved and is not the same product as Mounjaro® (FDA-approved for type 2 diabetes) or Zepbound® (FDA-approved for chronic weight management and obstructive sleep apnea), both manufactured by Eli Lilly.

Base vs salt forms (regulatory line)

The active pharmaceutical ingredient must be tirzepatide base. FDA has warned compounders that used salt forms of GLP-1s (it named semaglutide sodium and semaglutide acetate), which are not the active ingredient in the approved drugs. A legitimate compounded tirzepatide provider should be able to produce a certificate of analysis showing the active ingredient is tirzepatide base.

The 503A vs 503B pathway

Read the full 503A vs 503B explainer →

Provider pricing comparison (May 2026)

ProviderMonthlyNotes
NexLife (Editor's Pick)$139/mo (12-mo plan)Flat across 2.5–15 mg titration. MD/DO-supervised, three named 503A pharmacies.
Mochi Health$239/moNP-led model.
Hims compounded$249–$349/moTiered by dose at some points.
Henry Meds$379/moAsync NP model.

Quality assurance documentation to ask for

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
★★★★★ 4.8
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 fitness coaching
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, all MD/DO visits, messaging (lab work not stated on its pages), personalized nutrition plan (GLP-1 focused), 1:1 fitness call with certified wellness coach, and medical guidance.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
★★★★★ 4.7
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 coaching
  • 📱 Apple Health / Google Fit sync
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, all visits, messaging and Care360 coaching (lab work not stated on its pages).

Compounded tirzepatide via named 503A pharmacies.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Clinical context

Tirzepatide is a once-weekly dual GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist. SURMOUNT-1 (NEJM 2022, PMID 33567185) demonstrated 20.9% mean weight loss at 15 mg / 72 weeks. SURMOUNT-OSA (NEJM 2024) demonstrated apnea-hypopnea index reduction in obesity-related OSA. The boxed warning is for thyroid C-cell tumors; contraindicated in personal/family history of MTC or MEN-2.

Related pages

Questions readers ask

What documents should I ask for with compounded tirzepatide?

Ask for the pharmacy of record and its license number, a USP 71 sterility certificate, a USP 85 endotoxin certificate, an HPLC potency certificate, and lot traceability so every dose links to a specific batch and certificate of analysis.

Which pharmacies fill NexLife’s compounded tirzepatide?

NexLife’s plan pages name three 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy in Lutz, Florida, Premium Compounding in Decatur, Alabama, and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store in Lake Charles, Louisiana. No 503B facility is named on those plan pages.

How much does compounded tirzepatide cost?

NexLife lists $139 a month on a 12-month plan charged monthly or $169 month to month, the same at every dose (read October 14, 2026), the lowest 12-month price we track.

Is a 503B outsourcing facility inspected by the FDA?

Yes. A 503B facility is FDA-registered, FDA-inspected and follows cGMP standards, and it can prepare batches ahead of prescriptions. A 503A pharmacy is state-licensed, works under USP 797 and is not FDA-inspected for product release.

Primary sources

  1. FDA: Concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss (current as of October 1, 2026)
  2. FDA: Policies for compounders as GLP-1 supply stabilizes (updated April 1, 2026)
  3. FDA: Compounding and the FDA — questions and answers
  4. FDA: Registered outsourcing facilities (503B)
  5. Wilding JPH et al. Once-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 1). N Engl J Med 2021
  6. Wegovy (semaglutide) prescribing information, Novo Nordisk