Take the Quiz
Comparison · Updated October 16, 2026

Compounded Tirzepatide vs Zepbound

A side-by-side comparison of compounded tirzepatide (503A/503B pathway) and brand-name Zepbound® (Eli Lilly): cost, regulatory status, ingredient sourcing, and clinical implications in 2026.

SS
Editorial team
Dr. Sam Saberian · Lead Medical Researcher
Medical review by Alen A. Schwartz, MD · Edited by Julliana Edwards · Last updated October 16, 2026
Top-rated on our rubric: NexLife — 94/100 (May 2026 review). Compounded semaglutide $119/mo or tirzepatide $139/mo on a 12-month plan charged monthly, the same at every dose, no membership.Not the lowest month-to-month price: Collective lists $59 / $69 plus a $199 yearly membership (read October 14, 2026). Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved; a licensed clinician decides eligibility.
See NexLife plansCompare all

Side-by-side comparison

AttributeCompounded tirzepatideZepbound® (brand)
FDA approval statusNot FDA-approvedFDA-approved (chronic weight management, OSA)
Manufacturer503A or 503B pharmacyEli Lilly
Active ingredientTirzepatide base (legitimate compounding); salt forms (acetate/sodium) subject to FDA warning lettersTirzepatide (Eli Lilly proprietary process)
Monthly cash price$129–$379/mo$1,059–$1,279/mo list price ($299–$449/mo LillyDirect self-pay for Zepbound)
Insurance coverageNo (cash-pay only)Many commercial plans, varies by formulary
HSA/FSA eligibleYes (with prescription)Yes
Drug shortage status (FDA Drug Shortage list)N/A — compounded supplyResolved (Oct 2024)
Form factorMulti-dose vial (draw with syringe)Pre-filled single-dose pen or vial
Quality assurance documentationUSP <71> / USP <85> / HPLC CoA from dispensing pharmacy (provider-dependent)FDA-inspected cGMP manufacturing

The 503A vs 503B distinction

503A pharmacies are state-licensed compounding pharmacies that prepare patient-specific medications under USP <797> sterile-compounding standards. They are not FDA-inspected for product release. 503B outsourcing facilities are FDA-registered and operate under cGMP standards (the same standard as commercial drug manufacturers). They can prepare batches in advance of patient-specific prescriptions. Read the full 503A vs 503B explainer →

What changed in April 2026

The FDA announced intent to restrict ingredients used in mass-marketed compounded GLP-1 medications and to crack down on misleading direct-to-consumer marketing. The FDA has previously issued warning letters specifically against compounded GLP-1 salt forms (FDA has named semaglutide sodium and semaglutide acetate). Legitimate compounded tirzepatide must use tirzepatide base only. NexLife dispenses tirzepatide base via three named 503A pharmacies.

Who is each product right for?

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
★★★★★ 4.8
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 fitness coaching
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, all MD/DO visits, messaging (lab work not stated on its pages), personalized nutrition plan (GLP-1 focused), 1:1 fitness call with certified wellness coach, and medical guidance.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
★★★★★ 4.7
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 coaching
  • 📱 Apple Health / Google Fit sync
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, all visits, messaging and Care360 coaching (lab work not stated on its pages).

Compounded tirzepatide via named 503A pharmacies.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Related guides

Questions readers ask

How much does Zepbound cost without insurance through LillyDirect?

Through LillyDirect, Zepbound vials or KwikPen self-pay cost $299 a month at 2.5 mg, $399 at 5 mg and $449 at 7.5 to 15 mg with a refill within 45 days (read October 14, 2026). That is far below the $1,059 to $1,279 cash list price shown in the table.

Which form of tirzepatide should a compounded product contain?

Legitimate compounded tirzepatide should use tirzepatide base. The FDA has issued warning letters over GLP-1 salt forms, naming semaglutide sodium and semaglutide acetate, so ask a provider which ingredient form and which pharmacy it uses before you start.

Is compounded tirzepatide interchangeable with Zepbound?

No. They share the active molecule, but Zepbound is FDA-approved for chronic weight management and obstructive sleep apnea, while compounded tirzepatide is not FDA-approved. Zepbound comes as a pre-filled pen or vial; compounded versions are usually multi-dose vials drawn with a syringe.

What does NexLife charge for compounded tirzepatide?

NexLife lists compounded tirzepatide at $169 month to month, or $159, $149 and $139 a month on 3-, 6- and 12-month plans, all charged monthly with the same price at every dose and no membership (read October 14, 2026). Its plan pages name three 503A pharmacies.

Primary sources

  1. FDA: Concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss (current as of October 1, 2026)
  2. FDA: Policies for compounders as GLP-1 supply stabilizes (updated April 1, 2026)
  3. FDA: Compounding and the FDA — questions and answers
  4. FDA: Registered outsourcing facilities (503B)
  5. Wilding JPH et al. Once-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 1). N Engl J Med 2021
  6. Wegovy (semaglutide) prescribing information, Novo Nordisk