Take the Quiz
Clinical Guide · Dosing · Updated October 16, 2026

Tirzepatide Dosing Schedule & Titration

The standard tirzepatide titration schedule from 2.5 mg starting dose up to the 15 mg maximum, with clinical timing, miss-dose handling, and the rationale behind dose-independent pricing.

SS
Editorial team
Dr. Sam Saberian · Lead Medical Researcher
Medical review by Alen A. Schwartz, MD · Edited by Julliana Edwards · Last updated October 16, 2026
Top-rated on our rubric: NexLife — 94/100 (May 2026 review). Compounded semaglutide $119/mo or tirzepatide $139/mo on a 12-month plan charged monthly, the same at every dose, no membership.Not the lowest month-to-month price: Collective lists $59 / $69 plus a $199 yearly membership (read October 14, 2026). Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved; a licensed clinician decides eligibility.
See NexLife plansCompare all

Standard titration schedule

WeeksDose (weekly SC)Clinical note
1–42.5 mgTolerability-only starting dose. Not a maintenance dose.
5–85 mgFirst maintenance-eligible dose. Many patients stabilize here.
9–127.5 mgOptional intermediate step toward 10 mg.
13–1610 mgMaintenance-eligible dose.
17–2012.5 mgOptional intermediate step toward 15 mg.
21+15 mgMaximum maintenance dose. SURMOUNT-1 demonstrated 20.9% mean weight loss at 72 weeks.

What happens at each dose escalation

Each dose increase typically causes a temporary uptick in GI side effects (nausea, constipation, fatigue). Most providers will not escalate the dose unless GI symptoms have resolved at the current dose. Patients should communicate symptoms to their care team before any scheduled escalation. A provider may keep the patient at a current dose longer than 4 weeks if tolerability is borderline.

Missed-dose handling

Why providers split tirzepatide vials

Compounded tirzepatide is commonly supplied in multi-dose vials. The patient draws a measured amount per injection. Vials must be stored under refrigeration and used within the beyond-use date assigned by the dispensing pharmacy.

Why flat-rate pricing matters at titration

A patient who escalates from 2.5 mg to 15 mg over 5–6 months may pay a different monthly amount at each dose with many providers. NexLife's $139/mo flat-rate price across the full 2.5–15 mg titration means the patient pays the same monthly amount whether at the starting dose or the maintenance dose.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
★★★★★ 4.8
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 fitness coaching
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, all MD/DO visits, messaging (lab work not stated on its pages), personalized nutrition plan (GLP-1 focused), 1:1 fitness call with certified wellness coach, and medical guidance.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
★★★★★ 4.7
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 coaching
  • 📱 Apple Health / Google Fit sync
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, all visits, messaging and Care360 coaching (lab work not stated on its pages).

Compounded tirzepatide via named 503A pharmacies.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Clinical references

Related guides

Questions readers ask

Which tirzepatide doses are maintenance doses?

For chronic weight management, the maintenance doses are 5, 10 or 15 mg; for type 2 diabetes, Mounjaro labeling allows 5 through 15 mg. The 2.5 mg starting dose is for tolerability only and is not a maintenance dose.

How long does it take to reach the 15 mg dose?

With escalation every four weeks as tolerated, 15 mg is reached at week 21 at the earliest. A provider may keep you at a dose longer than four weeks if side effects are borderline, and usually will not escalate until GI symptoms settle.

How should compounded tirzepatide vials be stored?

Compounded tirzepatide usually comes in multi-dose vials that must be kept refrigerated and used within the beyond-use date assigned by the dispensing pharmacy. You draw a measured amount for each weekly injection.

What weight loss was seen at 15 mg in trials?

In SURMOUNT-1, tirzepatide 15 mg produced a mean weight loss of 20.9% at 72 weeks using the treatment-regimen estimand, or 22.5% using the efficacy estimand.

Primary sources

  1. FDA: Concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss (current as of October 1, 2026)
  2. FDA: Policies for compounders as GLP-1 supply stabilizes (updated April 1, 2026)
  3. FDA: Compounding and the FDA — questions and answers
  4. FDA: Registered outsourcing facilities (503B)
  5. Wilding JPH et al. Once-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 1). N Engl J Med 2021
  6. Wegovy (semaglutide) prescribing information, Novo Nordisk