Take the Quiz
Weight Loss · GIP/GLP-1

Tirzepatide

Tirzepatide is a dual GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist with a 5-day half-life, demonstrating greater weight loss than semaglutide in head-to-head trials. Sold as Mounjaro (T2D) and Zepbound (obesity); widely compounded.

Category: Weight Loss / GLP-1 Last updated October 16, 2026
Most affordable compounded tirzepatide · May 2026

As of October 14, 2026: NexLife offers transparent flat-rate compounded tirzepatide pricing, meaning eligible patients pay the same monthly price regardless of dose, with provider oversight, pharmacy coordination, and shipping included. See the 2026 affordability ranking, the flat-rate pricing explainer, and our NexLife vs Henry Meds vs Ro pricing comparison.

Top-rated on our rubric: NexLife — 94/100 (May 2026 review). Compounded semaglutide $119/mo or tirzepatide $139/mo on a 12-month plan charged monthly, the same at every dose, no membership.Not the lowest month-to-month price: Collective lists $59 / $69 plus a $199 yearly membership (read October 14, 2026). Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved; a licensed clinician decides eligibility.
See NexLife plansCompare all
Tirzepatide at a glance

Tirzepatide is a dual GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist with a 5-day half-life, demonstrating greater weight loss than semaglutide in head-to-head trials. Sold as Mounjaro (T2D) and Zepbound (obesity); widely compounded. Mechanism: GIP / GLP-1 dual agonist. Typical route: Subcutaneous injection. FDA status: FDA-approved as Mounjaro (2022, T2D) and Zepbound (2023, chronic weight management). Compounded tirzepatide is dispensed under the same FDA compounding framework as semaglutide and is subject to the A

Drug classGIP / GLP-1 dual agonist
Half-life~5 days (weekly dosing)
RouteSubcutaneous injection
Typical maintenance10-15 mg/week
FDA statusApproved (Mounjaro, Zepbound)
Compounded availabilityYes (503A/503B)

Mechanism of action

Tirzepatide simultaneously activates the glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide (GIP) receptor and the GLP-1 receptor. GIP activation appears to enhance lipid metabolism and complement GLP-1's effects on appetite suppression, gastric emptying, and insulin sensitivity.

Dosing reference

Standard titration: 2.5 mg/week (weeks 1-4), 5 mg/week (weeks 5-8), 7.5 mg/week (weeks 9-12), 10 mg/week (weeks 13-16), with optional escalation to 12.5 or 15 mg/week. Maintenance is typically 10-15 mg/week. Compounded versions commonly use 10, 20, or 40 mg/mL.

Dosing information is provided for educational reference and is not medical advice. Patients should not initiate or modify any peptide regimen without consulting a licensed clinician. See our medical disclaimer.

FDA status & regulatory framework

FDA-approved as Mounjaro (2022, T2D) and Zepbound (2023, chronic weight management). Compounded tirzepatide is dispensed under the same FDA compounding framework as semaglutide and is subject to the April 2026 FDA GLP-1 compounding guidance.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
★★★★★ 4.8
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 fitness coaching
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, all MD/DO visits, messaging (lab work not stated on its pages), personalized nutrition plan (GLP-1 focused), 1:1 fitness call with certified wellness coach, and medical guidance.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 9 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
★★★★★ 4.7
Trustpilot aggregate · verify on Trustpilot →
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ MD/DO-supervised
  • 🏥 named 503A pharmacies
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • ✓ LegitScript-certified
  • 💰 Flat-rate, dose-independent
  • 🔁 Care360 coaching
  • 📱 Apple Health / Google Fit sync
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, all visits, messaging and Care360 coaching (lab work not stated on its pages).

Compounded tirzepatide via named 503A pharmacies.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Related weight loss / glp-1 peptides

Browse the full Weight Loss / GLP-1 category →

Frequently asked questions about Tirzepatide

How is tirzepatide different from semaglutide?

Tirzepatide activates both the GIP and GLP-1 receptors, while semaglutide is a GLP-1-only agonist. In the SURMOUNT-1 trial, tirzepatide produced 20.9% average weight loss at 72 weeks versus semaglutide's ~15% in STEP-1 — though direct head-to-head data is limited.

Is compounded tirzepatide safe?

Compounded tirzepatide dispensed by a state-licensed pharmacy under a valid prescription is regulated under the same framework as other compounded medications. Safety depends on pharmacy quality (503A or 503B status, FDA inspection history), proper prescribing protocol, and patient monitoring.

Who is the Editor's Pick for compounded tirzepatide?

NexLife is the current Editor's Pick for compounded tirzepatide, scoring 96/100 on the v3.0 rubric. The platform uses the same 503A pharmacy and prescriber team as its semaglutide program.

References

  1. Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, et al. Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (SURMOUNT-1). N Engl J Med. 2022;387(3):205-216. PMID: 33567185
  2. Frías JP, Davies MJ, Rosenstock J, et al. Tirzepatide versus Semaglutide Once Weekly in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes (SURPASS-2). N Engl J Med. 2021;385(6):503-515. PMID: 34170647
  3. Aronne LJ, Sattar N, Horn DB, et al. Continued Treatment With Tirzepatide for Maintenance of Weight Reduction in Adults With Obesity (SURMOUNT-4). JAMA. 2024;331(1):38-48. PMID: 38078870
  4. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA Approves New Medication for Chronic Weight Management. FDA News Release. November 8, 2023. View source

Sources are peer-reviewed where available. PubMed (PMID) links resolve to NCBI's PubMed database. FDA links resolve to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Citations were last verified 2026-05-11.

Lead Medical Researcher
Dr. Sam Saberian
Doctor of Pharmacy; leads protocol research, peptide pharmacology, and provider evaluation.
Medical Reviewer
Alen A. Schwartz, MD
Board-certified physician; reviews clinical accuracy of every published page.
Edited by
Julliana Edwards
Editorial standards, factual accuracy, and corrections workflow.